Skip to main content Skip to navigation

The Murrow Symposium is an annual program that acknowledges exceptional achievement in communication, celebrates scholarship, and connects students to industry professionals. The symposium began more than 30 years ago as a panel discussion and lecture series designed to honor the legacy of Murrow, regarded as a broadcasting icon because of the news reporting and ethical standards he brought to his craft.

Since the 1990s, the Murrow School has honored the achievements of top leaders in the communication industry at the symposium. Each year’s honoree presents a public address on campus to highlight the symposium. Previous recipients of the Murrow Award include the late Peter Jennings (2004), the late Daniel Pearl (2003), Sir Howard Stringer (2002), Daniel Schorr (2002), Christiane Amanpour (2002), Bernard Shaw (2001), Ted Turner (2000), Keith Jackson (1999), Al Neuharth, (1999), Walter Cronkite (1998), Frank Blethen (1998) and Sam Donaldson (1997).

The symposium also includes workshops for college and high school students presented by communication professionals, a high school journalism competition and a scholarship banquet to honor the University’s top communication students and donors to the school.

2016 Murrow Symposium

March 30, 2016
4:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m.

Watch the livestream below of the 2016 Murrow Symposium featuring two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist and columnist David Horsey. Horsey is a political commentator for the Los Angeles Times and Through national syndication, David’s work has appeared in hundreds of media outlets, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, USA Today, Politico and

For more information about the Edward R. Murrow Symposium, check the Symposium’s homepage at

For more information about livestreamed events, visit the Murrow Symposium Live Stream Links.

Archived ceremonies may be available upon request by contacting